Charged With a First or Second DUI Offense in Tennessee?
If you have been charged with a first-offense DUI, it is very likely this is your first experience with the criminal justice system. Even if you have never faced criminal charges in the past, it’s important to choose a law firm with extensive knowledge of Tennessee’s drunk driving laws as well as the methods for securing the best possible result on your behalf. If you have a prior DUI conviction, it is all the more important to seek legal advice as soon as possible.
Arrested for a first- or second-offense DUI? Call 866-383-1545 to schedule a free initial consultation!
Penalties of a First and Second DUI Offense in Tennessee
Tennessee has some of the stiffest penalties for drunk driving in the United States. Our lawyers will fight to help you avoid the penalties of a first-offense conviction, which include a prison sentence of up to 11 months and 29 days, fines up to $1,500, alcohol and drug safety school program, and one-year driver’s license suspension.
If you have a prior conviction, the penalties become increasingly harsher. The minimum jail sentence for a second conviction is 45 days. You may be fined up to $3,500, and you will be required to attend DUI school. Your driver’s license will be suspended for two years.
At The Lanzon Firm in Knoxville, Tennessee, our attorneys will investigate the circumstances of your drunk driving arrest and prepare the strongest possible defense.
If you have four or more convictions, you face felony DUI charges.
Did You Refuse to Take the Breathalyzer?
Tennessee has an implied consent law. This means when you signed for your driver’s license, you agreed to submit to a Breathalyzer test or blood test if law enforcement had probable cause to believe you were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Refusing a Breathalyzer test can result in driver’s license suspension. However, if you refuse a field sobriety test, you do not risk driver’s license suspension for refusing.
If you refused to take the Breathalyzer test and lost your license, our firm may be able to obtain an occupational license for you. There are limits on when you can drive and where you can drive. If this is your first-offense DUI, you can apply for an occupational driver’s license that allows you to drive to work or school. If this is your second-offense DUI, you can apply for an occupational driver’s license after one year has passed in the two-year suspension.
Do Not Wait to Contact Us for a Free Initial Consultation
If you have been arrested for or charged with drinking and driving, and if it is your first offense or second offense, we can help. Call The Lanzon Firm, at 866-383-1545 to learn more about how we can put our years of trial experience into your criminal defense. Our 24-hour answering service alerts us to emergency calls. Do not delay. Call now. FREE initial consultations..